top of page

The Art of Mixed Media Collage

The essence of my art...

Confetti Nudes, Front and Center - Mixed Media Collage, Acrylic over Canvas

Collage derives from the French word coller, which means to “glue” or “stick together”. It’s an art technique, which is a grouping of various forms, creating a whole new piece.


Collage work can include various papers, metals, unique materials, fabric, paint, glitter, photo clippings, wood, or anything else that you can throw together with glue, and adhere to canvas, board, or whatever surface, to create that perfect visual image.

The term mixed media is just that. It’s an artwork which more than one medium or material has been employed. Collage is one example of mixed media, but not the only example. Mixed media could be combining marker with pastel, acrylic with pencil, paper with glass, and so forth.


Mixed media collage is my preferred form of art, which my work has reflected for many years, and has only advanced in the embellishment of materials, techniques, and mediums, that I use now to create the work I do.


What I truly enjoy about mixed media collage, is the eclectic mass of layers, textures, and colors. The depth and intrinsic details are what makes each painting truly unique and beautiful. The light and dark reflect off those layers, resulting in the character and emotion of each finished work.


My work reflects how I view life, and the world around me. I’ve defined these values in my Artist Statement. “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Beauty is what you choose to see. “Everything has beauty but not everyone sees it” – Confucius.”

Raspberry Jazz - Inner Child Series, Mixed Media Collage, Acrylic over Canvas

With each painting, I incorporate those layers of which I find flawed, yet stunning and unique. I strive to bring out the raw beauty in any of my subjects, no matter how imperfect. My hope is that those inspired by my work will take the time to view the world around them in a similar perspective.

Zara - Glitter Gals, Mixed Media Collage, Acrylic over Canvas

Over the past few years, I have created over 58 unique mixed media collage, acrylic paintings, and over 30 unique paint pour pieces. Although I have a full-time job, two websites, an ecommerce store, multiple social media platforms, and a family, I always find time for one of my biggest passions, and that is art. Always take time for those things that truly warm your heart, impact your soul, build your character, empower your independence, and make you whole.


Sunrise Mosaic, Mixed Media Collage, Acrylic over Canvas

The art of mixed media collage is the form of art I choose, and that brings out the best in me. Continue to be a part of my art community and allow me to share my passion and productions for years to come. I truly appreciate the love and support, as it inspires me to only do better. I hope that my work and journey inspire you too.


What’s your passion? Do you too, indulge in mixed media collage art? Share your love of art and life with me. Leave your comments below. Be sure to check back often, and to sign up for my emails to keep you informed.


Peace! :)



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page